Chapter One

Shopping begets shopping. Or, at least that’s been my lifelong motto. And it’s probably why the two main characters in my new cozy mystery series, “Murder by the Spoonful: The Antique Hunters Mystery”, live for shopping. Anne and CC both have day jobs but their true passion is shopping. They scour antique stores, estate sales and flea markets to find treasures to add to their collection.

Much like I do on the weekends with the real-life Anne and CC. While we haven’t stumbled across any murders or mysteries to be solved, we have found some cool pieces like my treasured set of Royal Doulton Bell Heather china. It makes me happy every time I look at it. We have also found a complete set of original Nancy Drew books, an early Van Briggle vase and most importantly, the pants.

Bell Heather China by Royal Douton
Bell Heather China by Royal Douton

My foray into writing mysteries began with a simple pair of flowered blue capri pants. These pants led me to create Anne and CC, and to imagine their adventure. It also led me to combine my two passions – shopping and writing. I hope you enjoy Murder by the Spoonful as much as I did writing it.

And, of course, like any respectable reporter, I am conducting research for the next book in the series. Tomorrow I leave for a road trip that will mirror CC and Anne’s excursion in the second book in the series, tentatively titled, “Murder Note by Note.” I will share some experiences from the road in this blog, and I hope you will come along for the ride with me.

One thought on “Chapter One

Leave a Reply

