Guitars, Boots & Music

We arrived in Nashville just in time on Tuesday for lunch at Arnold’s, one of the city’s original meat and three locations. I had ham, Brian had meatloaf. Following lunch, I ran into the antique store across the street while Brian visited Carter Vintage Guitars. There was nothing at the antique store to inspire me. CC though would have loved it as it was full of industrial supplies and equipment. 

   We then went to Antique Archeology, the Nashville location of the Frank and Mike from the History channel’s American Pickers. The store was crowded and full of eclectic items including Rick Nielsen’s checkerboard guitar and jacket and Loretta Lynn’s sequined dress.

  
After that we braved the tourists on Broadway and headed to the Johnny Cash museum. This was hallowed ground for me. My father loved music and his all-time favorite was Johnny Cash. He shared that love with me and my brother. 

The museum was great. It had original items from Johnny’s collection including guitars, his boots, handwritten lyrics and the coat he wore on the Rolling Stone comeback cover.

  
And, then we, or I should say I, went boot shopping. It goes without saying that I have a boot obsession. I love boots, have many pairs but I do  not have a genuine cowboy pair or a red pair. So, the search began. I tried on pair after pair until I was overwhelmed. Did I want mid calf? Higher? Sequins? No Sequins? My head was spinning but then the nice man at Trails West directed me to a pair of studded red/black wine boots. It was literally the last pair of those Dan Post boots they had. And, they happened to be my size. So, when the shoe fits. . .

  
We then enjoyed dinner in our hotel room. 

The next morning we headed to the famous Pancake Pantry, expecting a long line. There was none. We were seated right away. I had pecan pancakes and Brian celebrated his heritage with Swedish pancakes with lingonberries.

After breakfast, we spent three hours at Gruhn Guitars. Brian played a variety of acoustics including Guilds, Martins and Gibsons. Undecided we walked away with a hat and sticker. 

  

  

  
We then enjoyed a great Italian lunch at Giovanni’s near Vanderbilt. It was the freshest, best Italian meal I’ve had in a long time. I had spinach ravioli and Brian has lasagna.  

   

By that time, I was exhausted. We headed back to our luxurious hotel to take an afternoon nap. And, then we went to the Grand Ole Opry to take in their Wednesday evening show. On the bill was Ashley Monroe, one of the Pistol Annie’s, the Willis Clan, and John Conlee. Holly Williams, Hank Williams’ granddaughter, sang three new songs from her new album. She was awesome. 

  
In between the main acts, the announcer provided an old-time radio feel by interjecting with jokes and commercials from Cracker Barrel and Dollar General. Second to last was Thompson Square. They sang two new songs along with their hit, “Are you going to kiss me or not?” They were great. Closing out the show was Ricky Skaggs. Thompson Square joined him for a Patty Loveless classic, and it tore the roof off the building.

It was an action packed day full of music, shopping and food.

Leave a Reply

