New adventures

This weekend has been a round of firsts for me and my family. . . It started on Friday. My stepson, his friend and I took my niece to Ikea after she realized that her new apartment did not come furnished. We spent several hours searching for everything a college student needs — bed, dresser, desk, chair and storage. It was a great experience for me shopping with young adults and enjoying their point of view. We especially enjoyed the children’s section. After that, they ran back to Evanston to build the furniture. I went home to have dinner with my patient husband.

Fun at Ikea
Fun at Ikea

And, then today, I took a break from the community wide garage sale to join the first ever Mystery Writers Revealed Facebook event. I had the opportunity to chat with some cozy mystery readers and other writers. During my hour, I was able to share some of my passions — writing, antiquing, shopping and travel. They offered some great ideas of future places to shop such as the Allegen Antique Market in Michigan.  I sense a road trip coming on in the near future. Who knows maybe Anne and CC, the stars of Murder by the Spoonful, will blog about it.

Finally, tomorrow, I will be at my first book signing at one of my favorite places, Affordable Antiques in Naperville. They have been gracious enough to let me crash in on their annual fall festival. Of course, I’m hoping I will have some time to wander around myself. and look around. Who knows what I will find?  I will be there starting at 11:30 a.m. and looking forward to it. If you are in the area, please drop by.

IMG_0716

Leave a Reply

