Writing and Music

I find listening to music very inspirational and can repeat the lyrics of many songs. I listen during the day when I’m at work, and I listen at home when I write. I listen when I walk the dog. My mix is truly eclectic, ranging from classic country to modern alternative.

I also am obsessed with watching musical talent competitions from American Idol to the Voice. Over the past few years, my interest has faded past the auditions. Once they reach the live shows, I feel that the contestants turn into manufactured clones and sing the same songs. I can only take Celine Dion so many times.

I admit though I did enjoy watching Meghan Linsey on the Voice last season. My husband and I had rooted for her when she was on CMT Duets as part of Steel Magnolias. I hope to see more new music from her and was disappointed that she didn’t win the Voice.

And, last night when I was watching the Voice I was captured by the audition of Krista Hughes. For those who missed it, she sang “Angel of Montgomery.” Her rendition was so moving that it brought tears to my eyes. I didn’t think anyone other than Bonnie Raitt could do that song justice but she convinced me. I am rooting for her.

As I write this, I am listening to a mixture of Jonny Lang and Johnny Cash. Perfect writing music. I hope to complete the final draft of Neighborhood Watch today as I sing along.

Leave a Reply

