Traveling for Work

I’m in San Diego this week. Most people hear that and think, “how fun.” But it’s not for me. I’m here for work. While interacting with the editors of the journal that I work for can be fun, the meeting itself translates into long hours, sleepless nights and early mornings. Since I arrived Friday, it has been nonstop activity. 

The only fun part has been hanging out with my colleagues and my hotel. I am staying at the Hard Rock Hotel in downtown San Diego. In its lobby hangs one of Stevie Ray Vaughn’s guitars.  

 
Wish I could buy it for my husband to add to his collection. Also in the lobby is the picture of my hero, Johnny Cash. It shows him behind a stone fortress, looking contemplative, perhaps before San Quentin or Folsom. There’s no caption but I’d like to hang it in my office.

  And then there’s the lyrics to George Harrison’s song. 
Other than the hotel, the best part of the trip has been the constant supply of Garrett’s popcorn, a Chicago staple. Chicago is the location for next year’s conference so they have been promoting it with supplies of the salty, sweet mix.  

 
Then there’s the picture my husband sent of my kitten, Terra, with my dog, Bandit. Many of you may remember how I’ve said before that my dog doesn’t like cats. You wouldn’t know if from this picture.

I can’t wait to get home to them.

  And I will send a free copy of the new Antique Hunters mystery, Pickin’ Murder, to the first person to correctly  identify the band who is painted in the lobby of my hotel.

Comment here. 

   
 

Leave a Reply

