Anne Hillstrom’s Fabulous Finds

Welcome to my weekly insights into what I am shopping for. If you don’t know me, I am Anne Hillstrom, antique hunter extraordinaire. Me and my best friend, CC Muller, are the heroines of Vicki Vass’ antique hunter mystery series. To help Vicki with her research, I spend my days scouring estate sales, online auction houses and resale stores to find the most interesting antiques. I am going to chronicle those finds here.screen-shot-2016-10-01-at-1-34-19-pm

My current obsession is the Afternoon Tea Party china by Anna Weatherley. Trimmed with 24-karat gold, this china features hand-painted botanicals modeled after 18th and 19th century prints. I didn’t think there was any china set more expensive than Flora Danica but this one has it beat. One plate can cost more than $500, a serving bowl can cost $700. Isn’t it lovely? If I only won the lottery. Maybe I will find a set in the dusty corner of a barn or at a garage sale.

I would not use this set for anything other than breakfast and never around children or pets (Sassy, I hope you didn’t hear that).

Anne’s tip: I’m going to let you in on a little secret. When I search eBay, I search for misspellings. Often people are in a hurry to add their post so they misspell words. You can find great deals if you search for variations of a name like Limge instead of Limoge.

Leave a Reply

